The Confident Worshiper

After almost a year of being a member of my worship team I had a break through of sorts in my worship. For many years I led worship at another church. It took me some time to adjust to this role being that I was a musician for so long before. I accepted Gods calling to be on this new platform but when the ministry closed its doors I began to question that call. For a long time my family and I felt like wanderers visiting different churches until the search ended. Now came the time to find my place back in ministry. After joining the worship ministry I was complacent taking a back seat and singing in the choir. Truth be told I still find it to be a comfort zone. Given the opportunity to lead, I was taken back and afraid that I was not good enough. I sort feared this larger audience and was intimidated by all the talent around me.  The church population is larger than the last and the quality of worship is at another level. I was and am being stretched, singing songs that I would not typically sing. God was working on me and my confidence.

A confident worshiper is one that understands his/ her calling from God. With that knowledge comes an identity.  I know who I am in Him and He has designed me and equipped me to worship like only I know how.  You can worship with confidence when its you behind the microphone and not an imitation of another worshipper. I am no BJ Putnam or Israel Houghton they have their anointing and calling. I won’t attempt to be that which God didn’t call me to be. It’s not going to work. You see God doesn’t just want you embrace your calling embrace the identity that comes with it. God doesn’t want a phony behind the microphone. He wants your voice, your style, and your worship and His anointing upon you to be manifested.  Worship with confidence today!

Leave a Reply

