God + A Taxi

Screen shot 2012-12-07 at 7.04.16 PM

Today I had a God moment of the rare kind. Have you ever had a rock speak to you? Well that is what happened to me. If you don’t know already, I live in New York City. The town known for hustle and bustle. My morning commutes are usually a mad dash as I live quite a long distance from the school teach in. Lets just say that if I were to take public transportation I would need to take a Ferry boat, 2 trains and a public bus for a total of 2 hours going and coming back home. That being said I drive through the unpredictable traffic burdened highways of New York  city, through 3 of its 5 boroughs. I notice that there was some traffic on route and deviated towards local streets in order to by pass the traffic. It was on this path that God spoke to me through an unexpected messenger.

I don’t know if you have been in a yellow cab or much less in a New York yellow cab, but they are known to be infamous for reckless driving. I speak as a driver and as one who has taken a few rides in these cabs. When you drive in New York your eyes just naturally spot yellow cabs around you, not because they are yellow but because you know that they might just cut you off with little notice. I can’t say that all cabbies are this way but definitely a vast majority. If you haven’t figured it out by now I spotted a yellow cab in my commute today and I thought that he was gunning to cut me off. I must admit that well I did not react the way I am sure God would of liked me to do so. Yes, I pushed forward and honked the horn as if to say ” your not getting in”. The traffic light is now red and I am lined up right beside him. At this point he rolls down his window to speak with me. I roll my window down, now feeling slightly convicted, to listen to his words and he said…

I was trying to pick up a passenger who is standing there but you couldn’t see that

I look to my left and low and behold there was someone waiting for the cab. There it was my God moment. My heart dropped and my spiritual ears, now open, were able to hear what God had to say.

I am trying to accomplish something, not only in you but in those around you but you can’t see that.

I am humbled in His presence asking for forgiveness for interfering with His purposes, for not looking for what He is trying to do, for not allowing Him to be God in all aspects of my life. I don’t know if this cab driver was a believer. I am honestly shocked that he would even open his window to speak out given the nature of New Yorkers and the attitude they typically have towards cab drivers, but I am glad that he was, for that moment, filled with the spirit of boldness. I was blinded by rush and an incorrect perception of this cab driver but now distraught that I could have been responsible for him missing the biggest fare and tip he ever got. I leave you with this verse:

Always be full of joy in the Lord. I say it again—rejoice! Let everyone see that you are considerate in all you do. Remember, the Lord is coming soon.

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.

Philippians 4

Leave a Reply

