Listen and Follow

John 10:27

New International Version (NIV)

27 My sheep listen to my voice; I know them,(A) and they follow me.(B)

Yesterday I stood home from work with my baby girls. I came across this verse as if for the first time. I was immediately convicted by its words. I pray and worship him but in my times of devotion do I take out time to listen? I think that the majority of the times I must enjoy the sound of my own voice. I praise and sing to him, I thank him and ask of him and that is it. We all know that relationships require communication. Communication is an exchange which requires giving and receiving or speaking and listening. Notice that Jesus pauses in his sentence to say ” I know them”. How could he not know us? He listens to every word good or bad. Funny thing is that he speaks to us at all times addressing the needs and partaking in every conversation. The problem is that too many times we never shut up enough to hear him speak. Like I said before, you could be praising his name day in and day out but even in praising him he responds to us. I recently read a fellow blogger say stop singing in church. He made reference to the fact that we sing words without really listening and understanding the depth of the words. It’s bold statement but if we are not taking time to listen to him ,even during praise and our personal worship, then we may be falling into a pattern of vain repetitions. There is a blessing awaiting you in your silence.

The other issue is that we are so often flooded with so many voices that its hard to distinguish His voice. During a worship seminar Kari Jobe mentioned those moments when you get a call from a good friend who you haven’t spoken too in a while. They say hello, you respond, and then they say ” You don’t know who this is?”. You don’t recognize someones voice over the phone if you haven’t listened to that voice in a long time. What do we do when God speaks and our spiritual ears are not tuned enough to recognize his voice? We simply miss out on what He wants to say and go roaming around the desert of our problems and situations like the Israelites in the journey to the promise land. Samuel as a young man heard the voice of God and did not recognize it but when he was made aware of the person behind the voice he heard then he knew how to respond. He yearns to speak to you so that you may know Him and His heart. Take some time after all you have to say then simply say ” Speak for your Servant is listening ” ( Samuel 3:9 ).

Leave a Reply

